UK’s withdrawal from the EU


The United Kingdom (UK) is withdrawing from the European Union (EU) today, the 31st of January 2020.   As a result, the Withdrawal Agreement, which is legally binding for all Member States (including Cyprus) shall commence on the 1st of February 2020.

Following the UK’s withdrawal from the EU, a transition period of 11 months (expiring on the 31st of December 2020) shall commence.   During this period, the UK will continue to follow all of the EU’s rules.

Further updates on this subject may be provided during the transition period depending on the availability and clarity of information.

The firm will be advising clients during the above-mentioned transition period on all relevant legal matters